TBT: Music and Identity

Throwback Thursday: A wise witch looks back

Sara Grace Stasi
6 min readApr 14, 2022

--

As a Cancer rising, I tend to be the keeper of family memories. In this series, I take a photo from my past and reflect on how time and experience has shaped my current perspective and practice as an art witch.

My earliest microphone was a wooden block. I remember dancing around my family’s living room, aged 4 or so, singing Billy Joel’s It’s Still Rock and Roll to Me into a bright yellow cylinder.

After my performance I would lay down on the floor next to the big speaker so I could feel the bass of Eagles classics like Heartache Tonight.

What fascinated me was not the act of performance, but the music itself. I have always been moved by music and song lyrics, and throughout my childhood and adolescence I established and defined my identity primarily around the music that I, and those around me, listened to.

In my natal astrology chart I have a strong aspect between Neptune and my Sun and Venus. I feel this gives me an appreciation for music but also makes me associate my musical preferences with my identity and core values.

--

--

Sara Grace Stasi

Poems, short fiction, photography, musings on life. Santa Cruz, California. BA American Lit | BA Anthropology | MA Education. Patreon: sgstasi